From the of 1 October 2019 citizens of a number of states (the list of the states is below) will be able to obtain electronic visas (single entry e-visas for business, humanitarian and tourist purposes) for travelling to St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region.

  • E-visas can be obtained on the Russian Foreign Ministry’s e-visa website http://electronic-visa.kdmid.ru/index_en.html.
  • An electronic visa for trips to St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region will be issued only to citizens of the below list of states (according the Decision of  the Government of the Russian Federation No. 2021-r of 10.09.2019).
  • Electronic visa is issued free of charge by filling in an application on the e-visa website at least  (4) four calendar days before the planned trip and by attaching a photo file to the application.
  • Electronic visa is issued for a period of 30 days from the date of issue for a maximum stay of 8 days from the date of entry to the territory of Russia.

Electronic visa for St Petersburg and Leningrad Region is valid for entry into and exit from Russia by air, road and water, as well as without means of transport (on foot) through the following border stations of the Russian Federation in St Petersburg and Leningrad Region:

  • Pulkovo International Airport,
  • Vysotsk harbour,
  • Big Port of St Petersburg (Bolshoi port / Morskoi Vokzal), Passenger Port of St Petersburg,
  • Ivangorod, Torfyanovka, Brusnichnaya and Svetogorsk road border stations
  • Ivangorod border crossing point for pedestrians.

The use of electronic visas for St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region is currently unavailable in rail traffic. The border control is carried out onboard the trains to Finland and Estonia, and the border guard are not yet equipped with the necessary portable e-visa validation devices. 

Electronic visa for St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region is valid for entry and stay in the city of St Petersburg and the Leningrad Region only. Non-compliance with this requirement will constitute a violation of the visa regime for foreign citizens’ stay in the territory of the Russian Federation, and will entail administrative sanctions.

Transport companies shall be able to check the validity of e-visas at the Russian Foreign Ministry’s website http://evisacheck.kdmid.ru/,  in Russian or English.

When applying for an electronic visa, the applicant shall be responsible for the accuracy of the submitted personal data, incl. spelling of surnames and given names, which shall correspond to the spelling in the visa holder’s passport. If the personal data or photo provided for the electronic visa differs in part or in full from the data in the visa holder’s passport (nationality, surname, given name or names, date of birth, sex, passport number), the entry permit will not be granted by the border control and the e-visa will be cancelled. The only exception to this shall be when the visa holder’s name contains a number of characters that exceeds the space available in the name field of the electronic visa application.

List of Countries 

Electronic visa to St Petersburg and Leningrad Region is available to the citizens of the following countries (approved by Decision No. 2021-r of the Government of the Russian Federation of 10.09.2019)

  1. Austria
  2. Andorra
  3. Bahrain
  4. Belgium
  5. Bulgaria
  6. Vatican
  7. Hungary
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Denmark
  11. India
  12. Indonesia
  13. Iran
  14. Ireland
  15. Iceland
  16. Spain
  17. Italy
  18. Qatar
  19. Cyprus
  20. China (including Taiwan)
  21. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  22. Kuwait
  23. Latvia
  24. Lithuania
  25. Liechtenstein
  26. Luxembourg
  27. Malaysia
  28. Malta
  29. Mexico
  30. Monaco
  31. The Netherlands
  32. Norway
  33. Oman
  34. Poland
  35. Portugal
  36. Romania
  37. San Marino
  38. Saudi Arabia
  39. Northern Macedonia
  40. Serbia
  41. Singapore
  42. Slovakia
  43. Slovenia
  44. Turkey
  45. Philippines
  46. ​​Finland
  47. France
  48. Croatia
  49. The Czech Republic
  50. Switzerland
  51. Sweden
  52. Estonia
  53. Japan